Michelaine Lahaie

Chairperson

Professional photo of Michelain

Michelaine Lahaie was appointed as Chairperson of the Civilian Review and Complaints Commission for the Royal Canadian Mounted Police on January 2, 2019.

Ms. Lahaie is a 30-year veteran of the Canadian Armed Forces, retiring at the rank of Commander. During her time in service, she was posted to Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Esquimalt, Halifax, Kingston, and the National Capital Region. She participated in multiple NATO exercises, and deployments with the Royal Canadian Navy, including Operation SHARP GUARD, a naval blockade assisting United Nations' peacekeeping efforts in Yugoslavia, and OPERATION APOLLO, Canada's military contribution to the United States-led international campaign against terrorism.

In 2014, Ms. Lahaie received the Chief of Defense Staff Commendation for Outstanding Leadership and Professionalism for her role as Commandant of the Canadian Forces Leadership and Recruit School in Saint-Jean, Quebec, where she had the distinction of being the first woman Commanding Officer.

Prior to joining the Commission, Ms. Lahaie served as a member of the Veterans Review and Appeal Board, an independent tribunal that holds quasi-judicial hearings and renders decisions on veterans' disability benefits.

Ms. Lahaie holds a Bachelor of Arts from the Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean and a Master of Defence Studies from the Royal Military College of Canada.

Ms. Lahaie has been appointed as the Commission Chairperson for a five-year term.

Date modified:

Michelaine Lahaie

Présidente

Photographie de la présidenet de la Commission, Michelaine Lahaie

Le 2 janvier 2019, Michelaine Lahaie a été nommée présidente de la Commission civile d'examen et de traitement des plaintes relatives à la Gendarmerie royale du Canada.

Mme Lahaie a servi dans les Forces armées canadiennes pendant 30 ans avant de prendre sa retraite au grade de capitaine de frégate. Durant ses années de service, elle a été affectée à Saint‑Jean‑sur‑Richelieu, Esquimalt, Halifax, Kingston et la région de la capitale nationale. Elle a participé à de nombreux exercices de l'OTAN et déploiements avec la Marine royale canadienne, dont l'opération SHARP GUARD, un blocus naval à l'appui des efforts de maintien de la paix menés par les Nations Unies en Yougoslavie, et l'opération APOLLO, la contribution militaire canadienne à la campagne internationale contre le terrorisme dirigée par les États-Unis.

En 2014, Mme Lahaie a reçu la Mention élogieuse du chef d'état-major de la Défense pour son leadership et son professionnalisme exceptionnels en tant que commandante de l'École de leadership et de recrues des Forces canadiennes à Saint-Jean, au Québec, où elle a eu la distinction d'être la première femme à commander l'école.

Avant de se joindre à la Commission, Mme Lahaie a été membre du Tribunal des anciens combattants (révision et appel), un tribunal indépendant qui tient des audiences quasi judiciaires et qui rend des décisions relatives aux indemnités d'invalidité des anciens combattants.

Mme Lahaie est titulaire d'un baccalauréat ès arts du Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean et d'une maîtrise en études de la défense du Collège militaire royal du Canada.

Mme Lahaie a été nommée présidente de la Commission pour un mandat de cinq ans.

Date de modification :